Alec Morris transferring to Arkansas

image1The Razorback Hockey team is pleased to announce that Alec Morris has formally committed to transfer from Marian University (NCAA) to play at Arkansas.  A 6’1″ 215 lb. right-handed forward/defenseman from Olive Branch, Mississippi, Morris becomes the second NCAA player to transfer to Arkansas in the last six months (the other being current Razorback Tobias Sjolund).

Prior to his time at Marian, Morris played defense for SUNY Broomfield where he earned NJCAA Second All-Team Defenseman.  Morris has also assembled a substantial junior career, which included stops with the Atlanta Knights (USPHL Elite) and the Marquette Royals (MnJHL).

During his 14-15 season with the Royals, Morris served as assistant captain and helped lead the team to a league championship.  Reflecting on his time coaching Alec, then Royals Head Coach Jim Stanaway said, “Alec is one of the hardest working players I have coached. His work ethic is only trumped by his outstanding attitude. Alec will immediately impact the Arkansas organization on and off the ice.”

About his decision to transfer to Arkansas, Morris commented, “I chose the University of Arkansas because the hockey program is run exceptionally well and pushes players to become their best.”  He added, “I have always sought a program that pushes players not only in the sport itself, but also academically and has zero tolerance for slacking off. It is hard to find a program that pushes players in all areas and I believe the University of Arkansas is that program.”

Morris becomes the thirteenth player in a 16-17 recruiting class that now has ten different states represented (Texas, Mississippi, Massachusetts, North Carolina, New Jersey, Kansas, Tennessee, Wisconsin, Missouri, and California).  He joins the following players:

F-Drew Hill (Dallas Jr. Stars, NA3HL)
F-Garrett Jackson (McKinney Northstars)
F-Alex Kueser (Eureka High School)
F-Chris Weatherly (HC Dallas AAA, NAPHL)
F-Ben Koester (Rochester Ice Hawks, NA3HL)
D-Alex DeGuire (Skipjacks Hockey Club, USPHL)
D-Dominic De la Guardia (Portland Jr. Pirates, USPHL)
D-Jake Jones (Bobcaygeon Storm, GMHL)
D-Blake Sibley (HC Dallas AAA, NAPHL)
D-Brian Danahy (Abington Green Wave, MAHS)
G-Nick Bretzger (Springfield Express, WSHL)
G-Michael Moore (Chicago Cougars, USPHL)

The University of Arkansas is the only SEC school to field two hockey teams.  The 15-16 season marked the program’s inaugural season at Division I, which produced the highest finish in ACHA history for any team in its first DI season after moving from DIII.  Meanwhile, the Division III team boasts five SECHC conference titles and three appearances at the National Tournament.

The 2016-17 Division I & III schedules will be released in early summer.  All home games are played at The Jones Center for Families in Springdale.